top of page

An Ode To The World

Updated: Sep 23, 2020


12795370_10206297883065985_8982195978487794819_n

An ode that comes only from up above

An ode to spread a culture of love

Just three words, it all begins with three words that we all have told

Three words that to the ears of many might have meant that world

For the past weeks, months, and years we’ve been hearing these three words

Three words spoken to students, to friends, to teachers, to siblings, to parents, and even to strangers.

Three words spoken by everyone and to everyone. Three words that sum up all the good that was said and done.

Three words: thank you for…

To fellow students, thank you for.

Helping me study

And for participating in our group activity.

To teachers, thank you for.

All the things that I’ve learned

And the passing grade that I’ve earned

To mentors, thank you for

Always lending an ear to listen

And guiding me so i won’t end up mistaken.

To friends, thank you for

All of the times we’ve spent together

And the struggles we’ve overcome with the help of each other.

To siblings, thank you for

Making life fun and easy for me growing up

And for being models to whom i look up

To parents, thank you for,

Providing all my needs and loving me even if it bleeds

To strangers, thank you for,

Every act of kindness

In this world that is full of madness.

Thank you for

These three words are spoken for every good thing.

Spoken so that good deeds would never amount to just nothing.

However, these three words do not sum up to everything.

For these three words are only the beginning

Beginning of a world that is founded in a cultured way of living

You see,

The true essence of gratitude does not lie on the words thank you for

It lies on the words that come after and makes our hearts soar

For being like ATP to me and keeping me going.

For doing your part in maintaining a conducive environment for learning.

For being like Magellan and Columbus and helping me discover all that the world has to offer

For being like a nucleus to us by being an efficient leader

For showing me that love is not a fallacy

For being my Beatrice and chastising me

For showing me the marks of a cultured man by practicing CLAYGO

For making this classroom look less like inferno and more like paradiso.

For teaching me the value of suffering

For being considerate even when no one is looking

For showing me that entropy is only true for thermodynamics

For making me feel part of the group, just as each element is in a universal set in mathematics.

For being like my cytoskeleton and supporting me

For being as cohesive as H2O molecules are with me

For being as sweet and simple as glucose, yes

For being among my allied forces

For helping me keep a grade higher than Pi ( )

For not abandoning hope as we entered “hell” week to die

For multiplying my happiness, rather than dividing it

For showing me what admirable beauty is

These are the words that make gratitude what it is

These are the words that express God’s will for us in Christ Jesus

These are the words that lift us from our feet

To make all the bitterness sweet

Because gratitude is a command from God

It’s not close to something man would label as bad

First Thessalonians 5:18 says give thanks in all circumstances

Meaning saying thanks for every act of goodness

Gratitude

It encompasses every good thing and overcomes every bad thing in order to reach the home run.

The home run where “thank you” is never left unsaid

The home run where everyone is deeply appreciated

The home run wherein culture is greatly advocated

And so i speak

An ode to the world

An ode that comes only from up above

An ode to spread a culture of love

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page